Home

A digital campaign was another of our challenging briefs to widen our field of knowledge and show us interactive techniques. This projects aim was to create a digital interactive app or augmented reality for our chosen brand. Then we were supposed to promote this interactive feature using guerila advertising.

First we started of with choosing the brand and thinking of an app that could for it. The main part of creating an app is the ability to see the gap in the market for an app to emerge.

So at the beginning I thought of what would improve my life, or what could be a fun feature I could enjoy on my phone. Considering my life and choices I made daily I realised that I could create something that could affect my spare time. As I like to read I realised that quite often when I am at a bookstore I am not sure what do I want, and even though aimless browsing is nice, I do not have always time for it.

I looked at different book publishing companies and at the book reviews. I did not feel as I would myself trust that much reviews on different sites and since the word of mouth is the trustworthy marketing element I researched how people choose their books.

Friend recommendations also count big. If a friend who knows my tastes recommends a book, I am very likely to check it out. Reviews in magazines and starred reviews on sites like Kirkus also weigh heavily. Amazon reviews I usually avoid, or at least I have been for the last six months.”

I think this is a stronger driver of book sales than many of us realise. It is certainly the reason I read Gone Girl and Emma Donghue’s Room, I wanted t see what all the fuss was about AND I wanted to be part of the group of people who read them and loved them. We all want to be part of something, it is in our nature, and we all have a fear of missing out, and this holds true for book-buying choices. 50 Shades of Grey, anyone?”

These were the main comments I extrapolated. As I saw people want to be part of a community, where they can gain friends. I wanted to focus on the part of recommending a book as well. So I thought I would create an app that would serve as a social media for people who like to read.

The consumer would have their profile with information about what books did they read and what would they want to read. Consumer could browse through books and make friends through the books. I chose a penguin book publisher because their brand is very strong and their consumers are loyal. Therefore I wanted to create something that would support them. A Penguin social media app that would bring people together and strenghten their connection with the brand.

Each individual would start the creation of their profile by selecting his or her favourite kind of literature and based on that they would be divided into different houses. And then they would select the books they have read, and based on that they could get some points that could grant them discounts for penguin products.

 

Presentation 12

Presentation 13

Presentation 14

Presentation 15

Presentation 16

Leave a comment